Ambition Inspiration Achievement Resilience Partnership
Home Page

Djanogly Strelley Academy


Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years Foundation Stage - EYFS


Children develop more rapidly during the first five years of their lives than at any other time. That's why they are called the foundation years – the building blocks for life! During these foundation years, children's health, maternal mental health, parenting style, learning activities and early education are all influencing factors that can make a big difference to your child's future.


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the statutory framework that sets the standards that all Early Years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children are ready for school and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.


The EYFS is actually classed as the period from when your child is first born until they reach the age of 5 and move into Year 1 of Primary School.


At Djanogly Strelley Academy the EYFS consists of the time that pupils attend our F1 class (Nursery) and F2 classes (Reception).


Please read the attached documents and look at the links below to find out more about the EYFS.

Topics being covered this term.